What really defines style?

It’s difficult to open a glossy magazine these days without the likes of Alexa Chung, Fearne Cotton, Emma Watson or some other young ‘hot’ thing looking rather dishevelled, gracing the page. I don’t know any best dressed list of 2011 not containing said women- they appear to be marketed as my own generation’s style icons, alongside the stereotypical Cheryl Cole, Kate Moss and Victoria Beckham it’s difficult not to believe the world has gone slightly mad.
Of course this is just my own personal opinion, each individual has their own take on what defines style. To me anyone can look good in a floor length designer gown hand picked by your own stylists for a red carpet event, it’s what each individual wears off duty that should identify them as a truly inspirational dresser.  
Lets take the likes of Alexa Chung for example, ripped from the set of T4 as a chirpy, predictable teenage tv presenter, and transported to front row seats at Chanel’s couture catwalk. But why? Everything screams average when taking in the Chung brand image. Straggly hair, plain features, with garments thrown onto not much more than just skin and bones- the fashion industry is supposedly taking a stand against abnormally thin modes yet Vera Moda sign her up as their autumn/winter representative. Maybe Alexa just doesn’t dress to compliment her tiny frame, after all the majority in what she’s snapped in looks four sizes to big for her and demonstrates a tent effect – yet apparently that’s an inspiration look we all admire! The same goes for Fearne Cotton, does she ever look like she hasn’t just rolled out of bed and in front of the camera, unless it’s for a shoot and she’s been specifically styled for?
Maybe I just have a conservative view on fashion, I’m inspired by Olivia Palermo, Adele and Leighton Meister‘s preppy well put together outfits designed to flatter the figure and compliment colours. Mix it up with a bit of Nicole Ritchie and Marina Diamonds quirkiness and you have the definition of my entire wardrobe. I could exit my house looking an entire mess but it will still always be a well but together and thought through mess! My ranting demonstrates me as a boring dresser, when in fact I know a lot of people don’t understand some of the creations I venture out of the house in. I like to push boundaries and explore trends, sometimes I’ll admit it get it wrong and look borderline ridiculous but other’s I’m pleased I can take an adventurous perspective on fashion as it enables me to discover a whole knew me from time to time!
Each individual has their own take on what defines style, some I just don’t understand and consequently disagree with!
About SmudgeLove

My ex boyfriend called me smudge...My fake tan used to run in the rain- Not too attractive, these days it seems to be mascara streaming down my face... I will marry Tinie Tempah- Adele and Nicki Minaj are my idols! I fuck up a lot, Break people's hearts, Cry at almost everything, Try to be a cold heared bitch but fail miserable && Dont really give a fuck!

2 responses to “What really defines style?

  1. I don’t usually comment but I gotta say thanks for the post on this special one : D.

  2. I genuinely enjoy examining on this site, it has wonderful posts . “Literature is the orchestration of platitudes.” by Thornton.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

